Student Awards

Student Awards

The Richard and Jane Francis Award

In honor of the memory of Richard Francis (d. 2005), the endowment for this prize was established in 2000 to award an annual prize of $1000 to a UCCS student for outstanding scholarship on furthering the study of St. Thomas Aquinas. Dr. Francis was a Professor in the Philosophy Department from 1966 until 1992, during which time he served as Philosophy Department Chair and LAS Dean. The winner of the prize is determined by a faculty committee on the basis of an essay contest. The award is offered in conjunction with the Medieval Philosophy course, but submissions are accepted more broadly. Winners are announced after the semester in which the deadline is set.

Congratulations to

  • 2017-2018: Richard Schottler
  • 2014-2015: Kirstyn Jacobs, "Divisions in Natural Law: An Argument for the Exclusion of the New Natural Law Theory"
  • 2011-2012: Phillip Ray, "Death and Mysticism in St. Thomas Aquinas"
  • 2009-2010: Carlos Marine, "St. Thomas Aquinas on Addiction: What It Is, How It Works, and How to Stop It"
  • 2006-2007: Aaron Luttrell, "The Problem of Space, Time and Extension in Moses Maimonides and St. Thomas Aquinas"
  • 2005-2006: Jonathan Sparks, "Does God Think in Words?"
  • 2003-2004: Jordan Kiper
  • 2001-2002: Matthew Frum and Darla Alvarez-Hanson

The Eldon Stevens Award

In honor of the memory of Eldon Stevens, the endowment for this award honors the outstanding Senior Thesis of the academic year. It was established in 2004 by Professor Emeritus Stevens (d. 2006), who taught in the Philosophy Department from 1973 until 1983. The award is $1000. The winner of the prize is determined by a faculty committee composed of the Senior Thesis advisors for the year.

Congratulations to:

  • 2017-2018: Will Blocker
  • 2016-2017: Logan Miller
  • 2014-2015: Melanie Tate
  • 2013-2014: Sam Sells and Char Brecevic
  • 2011-2012: Robert Winston Mikulas
  • 2010-2011: Katie Spence
  • 2009-2010: Robb Vawter and Lawrence Norris
  • 2007-2008: Michael Rush
  • 2006-2007: Nate Siebert and Lana Garcia
  • 2005-2006: Jordan Kiper
  • 2004-2005: Joseph Kuzma

The Center for Legal Studies Law School Award

  • 2014-2015: Kirstyn Jacobs

Outstanding Graduating Philosophy Student Award

Congratulations to:

  • 2017-2018: Emily Campbell
  • 2014-2015: Rebecca Duran; Kirstyn Jacobs
  • 2013-2014: Marc Dwellis
  • 2012-2013: Jessica Alvarez
  • 2011-2012: Rachel Haddock
  • 2010-2011: Katie Spence
  • 2009-2010: Robert Vawter and Karenleigh Overmann
  • 2008-2009: Raymond Schultz
  • 2007-2008: Nate Siebert
  • 2006-2007: Travis Parkhurst
  • 2005-2006: Catherine Hagen
  • 2004-2005: Valeria Holtz

Humanities Outstanding Student Award (who are Philosophy Majors)

Congratulations to:

  • 2009-2010: Karenleigh Overmann
  • 2008-2009: Sarah Martin